18 ‘water champions’ honored at World Water Day Awards 2018

Eighteen (18) individuals, organizations, government agencies and local government units who have gone above the call of duty to save the world’s most precious natural resource —water— were honored at the World Water Day Awards 2018.

This brings to 54 the total number of honorees since the awards program started in 2015.

The awarding ceremony, held at the Novotel Hotel in Cubao, Quezon City was the highlight of this year’s national celebration of the World Water Day on March 22, with the theme “Nature for Water.”

The awards program was organized by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands, the Department of Public Works and Highways, the Laguna Lake Development Authority, the Pasig River Rehabilitation Commission, the National Water Resources Board, the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), and water concessionaire Maynilad.

Here is the complete list of the awards and winners for this year:

Water Conservation Education Award: Unilever Philippines

Water Leadership Award: Manila North Tollways Corporation and
Kagawad Annie Baluyot of Barangay Ugong, Valenzuela City

Kawal ng Kalikasan: Engineer Reynaldo Valdrez Rosario and
Technical Working Group on Solid Waste Management Policy

Kampeon sa Lawa: Better Tunasan River Army;
Cabuyao River Protection Advocates; Tanaw de Rizal; and
Mr. Mandy Mariño

Kampeon ng Katubigan: Villar Sipag Foundation

Huwarang Alagad ng Ilog Pasig: Philippine Coast Guard

Water-Wise City Award: City of Taguig

Water Warrior Award (WWA) for Capacity Building: Lydia Codiñera

WWA for Environmental Sustainability: Mr. Allan Chua

WWA for Industry Leadership: Engineer Ma. Teresa C. Combatir

Huwarang Lingkod Tubig: Metropolitan Naga Water District (Luzon);
Silay City Water District (Visayas); and
Butuan City Water District (Mindanao)